Recent Posts

Sunday, December 21, 2014

National Universities Commission(NUC), Prosecutes 8 Operators Of Illegal Universities within Nigeria

About eight operators of closed illegal universities within Nigeria are being prosecuted in the court currently. This was made known in a weekly publication from National Universities Commission (NUC).
The Executive Secretary of National Universities Commission (NUC) signed the  publication which listed the illegal institutions as below:
1.University of Nigeria, Keffi Nasarawa state
2. North Central University, Otukpo, Benue State
3. Christ Alive Christian Seminary and University, Enugu
4. Richmond Open University, Arochukwu, Abia State
5. West Coast University Umuahia, Abia State
6. Clemens University, Iyin Ekiti, Ekiti State
7. Volta University College Aba, Abia State
8. Illegal Satellite Campuses of Ambrose Ali University
The commission, stated in addition to the close of the illegal varsities, that operators of the institutions are also undergoing court actions.
The purpose of the actions, is to prosecute the owners of these illegal universities and recover fees and charges on innocent subscribers.
The commission also warned that any individual or unsuspecting student who patronizes or obtain certificates from the illegal varsities, does so at his or her own peril.
It also stated that any certification from these illegal institutions will never be recognized for the purposes of NYSC, employment or further studies.
The NUC bulletin also listed other 55 illegal higher institutions which do not have licenses and were shut-down for violating Education Act of 2004.


Post a Comment